Xbox One delayed in some European countries

Last Updated: August 14, 2013


We’ve got some bad news for some of our European fans. Because of the need “to meet demand” Microsoft has revised the number of countries that will receive the Xbox One when it first launches in November.

The number of countries that will receive the console “Day One” has dropped down from 21 to 13, and unfortunately if you live in Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden or Switzerland you’ll need to wait until some time in 2014 (although there should be nothing stopping you importing a console). Microsoft has said however, that if you already pre-ordered a X1 before today, you’ll receive a free game when your console finally ships next year. They’ve said they’re trying to make this happen as soon as possible.

If you’re located in any of the following countries then breath a sigh of relief, because you’ll still be able to grab an Xbox One, Day One: Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Spain, United Kingdom, United States and New Zealand.